Who we are

We are the chair design of structures at the Faculty of Architecture of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. The work at dos focuses on the design of structures and combines research on innovative materials and building systems, especially in the context of digital tools and computational technologies, to develop sustainable and resource-efficient solutions for civil engineering and architecture.

Our goal is to create integrative solutions for structural engineering, as well as to explore new structural concepts through design, prototyping and digital technology.

News and Announcements

.
Girls'Day 2024

We look back on a successful Girls'Day Workshop 2024. With great enthusiasm, we spent an exciting day together exploring the fascinating world of bridges.

Mehr Info...
.
Seminar week - Digital Skins

Digital Skins offers an in-depth exploration of digital
tools and computational strategies for the
geometrical processing and patterning of surfaces.

More info...
.
WEarth it!

The seminar "WEarth it! Horizontally tensioned earth" aims to delve into the foundational aspects of the construction material earth, exploring its limitations and advancing the development of horizontally engaging structural elements through its combination with wood.

More info...
.
Form & Structure

In the seminar "Form and Structure” special topics within structural design, such as form finding, optimization and complex geometries will be treated.

More info...
.
Rise Above

Designing an observation tower usually involves close collaboration between architects and civil engineers. Such a task awaits you in this interdisciplinary seminar: in "Rise Above," the design of a timber observation tower is tackled in collaboration with students of civil engineering.

More info...
.
Building & Structure

In the Building & Structure seminar the functional and effective modes of structural design are examined in more detail, especially with the specific study of the applicability of the materials' timber, steel and concrete.

More info...

Wer wir sind

Wir sind der Lehrstuhl design of structures an der Fakultät für Architektur des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie. Die Arbeit am dos konzentriert sich auf den Entwurf von Tragwerken und kombiniert Forschung an innovativen Materialien und Bausystemen, insbesondere im Kontext digitaler Werkzeuge und computergestützter Technologien, um nachaltige und ressourceneffiziente Lösungen für das Bauwesen und der Architektur zu entwickeln.

Unser Ziel ist es, integrative Lösungen für den Hochbau zu schaffen, sowie neue strukturelle Konzepte durch DesignPrototyping und digitale Technolgie zu erforschen. 

Aktuelles

.
Girls'Day 2024

Wir blicken auf einen erfolgreichen Girlsday-Workshop 2024 zurück. Mit großer Begeisterung haben wir gemeinsam einen spannenden Tag verbracht, der der Erkundung der faszinierenden Welt der Brücken gewidmet war.

Mehr Info...
.
Seminarwoche - Digital Skins

Digital Skins offers an in-depth exploration of digital
tools and computational strategies for the
geometrical processing and patterning of surfaces.

Mehr Info...
.
WEarth it!

Im Rahmen des Seminars "WEarth it! Horizontal spannender Lehm" sollen die fundamentalen Eigenschaften des Baustoffs Lehm erläutert, seine Grenzen erforscht und durch die synergistische Verbindung mit Holz innovative horizontale Bauelemente entwickelt werden.

Mehr Info...
.
Form & Structure

Im Seminar „Form and Structure" werden spezielle Themen der Tragwerksplanung wie Formfindung, Optimierung, Geometriebearbeitung und Architekturgeometrie behandelt.

Mehr Info...
.
Rise Above

Das Entwerfen eines Aussichtturmes geschieht meist in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen Architekt:innen und Bauingenieur:innen. So eine Aufgabe erwartet euch in diesem interdisziplinären Seminar: bei „Rise Above“ wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Studierenden des Bauingenieurwesens der Entwurf eines Aussichtturmes in Holzbauweise bearbeitet.

Mehr Info...
.
Building & Structure

Im Seminar Building & Structure werden die Funktions- und Wirkungsweisen des Tragwerksentwurfs vor allem mit der spezifischen Untersuchung der Anwendbarkeit der Materialien Holz, Stahl und Beton genauer betrachtet.

Mehr Info...